How to request an Installation Access Badge:

To complete a background check and be issued an installation access badge you must go to the Visitor Control Center (VCC) now operating in its new facilities at The Borinqueneers’ Gate and complete an access request form. Contractors and Vendors requiring long term access (over 30 days) will require a government sponsor. All applicants undergo a background check. You can download the form by clicking Fort Buchanan Access Request Form. Active Military member / Active Federal Employee or Entity (Organization) may sponsor a cleared guest up to one year, Retired Federal Employee can sponsor their legal spouse up to one year, Non-sponsored personnel will receive a 30 day badge (regardless of length of visit). All applicants undergo a background check. You can download the form by clicking Fort Buchanan Access Request Form.

By submitting the form, you are agreeing to a background check, which uses the National Crime Information Center Interstate Identification Index, a Federal Bureau of Investigation database that provides criminal histories. To review the Garrison policy, click Policy Memorandum No. 12, Installation Access Policy.

Be aware that all individuals 18 years and older entering the installation are required to have a background check and installation access badge before being allowed to enter the installation. Visitors, contractors, and vendors with an Installation Access Badge ID can access the installation at any Access Control Point (ACP).

Badges are valid only for the timeframe authorized on the badge and all personnel 18 years and older in the vehicle must have a valid installation access badge.

The following states/territories are compliant with the REAL ID Act: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

****NEEDS TO BE VERIFIED*****The following states/territories have an extension through October 10, 2017, allowing Federal agencies to accept driver’s licenses and identification cards from these states/territories: Guam, Alaska, American Samoa, California, Idaho, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Northern Marianas, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, and the Virgin Islands.