Directorate of Public Works (DPW)

The Directorate of Public Works is comprised of six divisions: Engineering Services Division; Operations and Maintenance Division; Environment Division; Housing Division; Master Planning Division and Business Operations and Integration Division.


The mission of the Directorate of Public Works is to provide base support services to include public works services, limited missile test support and environmental conservation/compliance programs to Team White Sands elements and organizations with specialties in:

  • Master planning
  • Engineering services in design and construction
  • Energy management
  • Environmental Compliance services
  • Conservation services
  • Pollution prevention
  • Utility services
  • Roads and grounds services
  • Facility operations, maintenance and repair
  • Housing services


The vision of the DPW is to be the premiere directorate within the Army for providing the highest quality and most cost effective installation management services and programs in public works and environmental areas with intense focus on:

  • Sound resource management
  • Customer service and support
  • Environmental stewardship
  • Land stewardship
  • Infrastructure improvements