1022-A-ZN169-002.jpgMembers of the Daniel Circle Chapel Choir sing during the 2021 Ministry Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon Oc. 22 at the NCO Club on post. (Robert Timmons)

By Robert Timmons, Fort Jackson Public Affairs

The Religious Support Office honored the many volunteers, who “do all the things necessary” to help the installation put on religious activities week in and week out, during a luncheon Oct. 22 at the NCO Club.

“We are here to recognize those folks … who often work behind the scenes – the unsung heroes” who out of the kindness of their hearts volunteer, said the installation’s chaplain, Chaplain (Col.) Jimmy Nichols. “We can’t do this without you.”

Fort Jackson leadership as well as volunteers at the various religious activities across post joined with Chaplain (Col.) Monica Lawson, one of the first female African-American chaplain to reach the rank of colonel, to give the volunteers their heart-felt thanks.

“Those who are being recognized today as volunteers are extraordinary and exceptional,” Lawson said during her keynote address. “The over 30 people today have collectively given over 1,000 hours to promote and sustain the religious support mission here on Fort Jackson.”

Why do they volunteer? “They don’t do it for recognition,” Lawson added. “They do it out of the kindness of their hearts. Yes, that’s true, but as my grandmother used to say, ‘It doesn’t hurt people to say thank you.’”

“We thank you for your time, for your talent and thank you for your treasure,” Lawson said.

Those recognized are:


Luereatha Bailey

Loretta Hill

Rosa Butler

Ernest Hopkins

Ailene Wilkins

Rev. Diane Champaign

Roberta Cross

Daniel Circle Chapel Choir


Laura Morris

Lenzy Morris

Patricia MacDermott

Rick MacDermott

Monika Wilson

Hattie Green

Earl Bailey

Raymond Wray

Marshall Weigott

Chaplain (Col.) Ray M. Myers

Dana Myers

Stephanie Kersey

Irene Laulualo


Retired Maj. Gen. Jeff Jacobs


Rick Vanater

Chaplain (Maj. Miller J. Eichelberger

Cindy Kreider

Cheryl Plevka

Ciera Madasz

Rev. Denise Hopkins


Tim Risher

Karen Risher